Translation, from German, of Mascha Kaléko’s “Das letztes Mal”

“The last time”

It seems you’ve gone. Your last word
still faintly clinking in my chamber:
the brittlest shimmer lingered
some lovely hours. Gone, then, as before.

Long have I known the sharp increment
of your faltering redoubt.
Long now, unbidden, have I sensed
you seeking my window out,

and often hear unspoken
some muted sinking phrase;
and often the familiar knocking
at the door. Gone, same as always.

Berlin (Charlottenburg district)
44 Mommsen St.
1938

2 thoughts on “Translation, from German, of Mascha Kaléko’s “Das letztes Mal”

  1. I’ve been reading your translations of Mascha Kaleko’s poems for quite a while now, and am deeply discontent that you’ve only translated three poems. She is my favourite poet, and you, such a brilliant and lovely translator. It should be a crime that you aren’t translating more of her poems! Please, translate a few more if possible!

    Love,
    -Kyiv

    • That’s so nice of you to say! I’m also disappointed that I don’t have more translations done yet. I’m currently in a doctoral program studying higher education policy and labor relations…so time has been short for poetry and translation. But I still plan to keep working on both Kaléko and Bezruč (a Czech/Silesian poet). I now know there are at least two people out there who want more!

::say something::