Translation, from German, of Mascha Kaléko’s “Blatt im Wind”

“Leaf in the wind”

Let me feel of your heart its tremors,
That I hear not how my own heart knocks.
Open before me all the secret doors,
Since by a bolt my own door locks.

I cannot, my dear, find the words to say,
And my tears abide unspent:
The forces binding us since the advent
Will unravel us at the end of days.

All my pain I drown in kissing.
All my mystery sustain like a child.
I am a leaf, torn too soon from the tree.

Are all lovers so alone in the wild?

::say something::

