Another “Next Big Thing”

I’m hosting my friend Nicolas Destino-Hiler’s iteration of the “Next Big Thing” interview-chain. (I’m also hosting him in person, along with some other writer and musician friends, for an Off-Site Event during the 2013 AWP Conference.)

What is the working title of the book?
The Next Big Thing, “Heartwrecks.”

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I sought out to find a concrete explanation for fleeting moments of happiness. It began in winter of 2011 in Jersey City, when I would go outside to smoke on my balcony. I brought my laptop each time and made myself write a poem in the moment of a feeling with minimal edits. This collection represents the failure in finding concrete explanations for fleeting joys.

What genre does your book fall under?
It’s a crossover collection of poetry. I wanted to make what was true in the moment.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?
I would choose Ellen Burstyn to play all parts.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?
A trip through paint, music, love and loss.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?
It took me one year to complete the first draft.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
It was a combination of winter and grief that led me to write this book. I was most inspired by my late partner, then later by my current relationship.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
There’s a lot of wild imagery filled into short poems. I think anyone who enjoys dark, surreal images would be pleased.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
It is published through Sibling Rivalry Press.

My tagged writers for next Wednesday are:
My tagged writers for next week are: Sivan Butler-Rotholz, Claudia Cortese, Michael Klein.

One thought on “Another “Next Big Thing”

::say something::

